Changes to Oracle Certification for Java Architects

I’ve recently completed the first exam towards the Oracle Certified Master, Java EE 5 Enterprise Architect and had aimed to complete the assignment later this year. However, I just happened to go to the Oracle Certification website where I saw that the rules are changing for a few of their certifications.

Quoted from the announcement on their website:

Beginning August 1, 2011, Java Architect, Java Developer, Solaris System Administrator and Solaris Security Administrator certification path requirements will include a new mandatory course attendance requirement.

I can’t say I’m impressed with how quietly they announced this! I haven’t seen anything on the OTN Java site about it, nor have I seen any attempt to make developers aware of this through other channels. I also have not received any emails from them about the changes to a certification track that I am currently working on. Unless I’ve managed to miss the announcement somewhere, I can only guess that they’re trying to sneak this in quietly to get more money out of us. Perhaps I’m being a bit cynical, but I don’t think it’s too far from the truth, given Oracle’s recent track record with the Java community.

So if you’re busy working towards any of these certifications, I suggest you pick up the pace and get it done by the end of July! And here I thought things were starting to settle down.

Fortunately the certification assignment has a very similar focus to my next assignment at Oxford. If all goes well, I might just manage to get it done in time.

4 Comments on “Changes to Oracle Certification for Java Architects”

  1. […] Books ← Changes to Oracle Certification for Java Architects […]

  2. gonella says:

    so, this is not clear for me, do I need to buy before august? or need to do the test befor august?

    I mean, if I purchase the certification before of august, I will be able to do in the old way?

    thanks

    • gonella says:

      And one more thing.. Are the prices correct for each course? something about $2.000

    • Unfortunately you need to complete the entire certification before August to avoid the course requirement. It doesn’t matter when you purchase the exams.